Blog Tour

Blog Tour

So when Sheri asked if I would like to be part of the Crew working on letters for her English Paper Piecing Blog Tour, I was both honored and a little anxious to be honest.
I HAVE done EPP years ago as evidenced by these late 90’s early 2000’s Grandmother’s Flower Garden blocks that are still not completed.

But I have never English Paper Pieced actual Curves. And I picked “O” for Ocean Park.  A whole lotta curves!  And you may notice that sewing curves is not really my thing if you have been visiting the Blue Nickel Studios for any length of time.
What is funny is that I think the curves were probably the easiest part for me.
Here is my “O” ….. I know it is not perfect, I felt very rusty at the start, but I did feel better about it towards the end.  I was super happy that my Ocean Park batik fabrics were very easy to manipulate in the EPP process, a lot of batiks are very stiff and not as flexible. Mine feel just like a slightly denser cotton cloth but not stiff like others are.

Here is the project that I am putting my “O” into. I have had this giant hoop on my studio wall for  a decade and it has never changed.

Sheri sent me foundation papers for a “P” too,  but I did not get that done in time for my spot on the tour. I am planning on making that “P” this summer and buttonhole stitching it and the “O” on to this new hoop foundation for an “OP” piece celebrating the coming of my second line Ocean Park coming into the world.

I do feel that others on the tour have been more expert at EPP than I am, so I am grateful that Sheri let someone who is more of a beginner be involved as well. Though mine is not perfect, I can see improvement and I would tell you that if you want to try Sheri’s Typecast EPP pattern, you should not be afraid of it. The directions are great and there a lot of tips in the pattern. I found for me that it was easier to start in the middle and get the letter sections lined up and sewn first and then go to the edges. Also, I had only done the flat stitching in my original Flower Garden blocks. I did a combination of the whip-stitch and flat stitching that Sheri talked about. That did help. I am not sure if I liked gluing better than basting for KEEPING things in place, but it WAS a much faster way of basting to be sure!

You can get your Typecast pattern guide and paper packs and find more details about the pattern in Sheri’s shop here.

I feel like I am in a 70’s Epic movie with a LONG host of ‘Sew-lebrities’  So honored to be in this group.   Check out all of the Letter Makers!

TYPECAST OF CHARACTERS BLOG TOUR hosted by Whole Circle Studio:
• Wednesday, March 27: Tour Introduction by Whole Circle Studio
• Monday, April 1 — A: Kate Brennan of Aurifil
• Tuesday, April 2 — B: Mathew Bourdreaux of Mister Domestic
• Wednesday, April 3 — C: Tara Curtis of Wefty Needle
• Thursday, April 4— D: Leah Day of Free Motion Quilting Project
• Friday, April 5 — Week 1 Wrap Up featuring A-D and GIVEAWAY at Whole Circle Studio
• Monday, April 8 — E: Jess Finn of Paper Pieces
• Tuesday, April 9 — F: Sylvia Schaefer of Flying Parrot Quilts
• Wednesday, April 10 — G: Giuseppe Ribaudo of Giucy Giuce
• Thursday, April 11— H: Hilary Jordan of By Hilary Jordan
• Friday, April 12 — Week 2 Wrap Up featuring E-H and GIVEAWAY at Whole Circle Studio
• Monday, April 15 — I: Kim Soper of Leland Ave Studios
• Tuesday, April 16 — J: Yvonne Fuchs of Quilting Jetgirl
• Wednesday, April 17 — K: Karen O’Connor of Lady K Quilts
• Thursday, April 18 — L: Kristy Daum of St. Louis Folk Victorian
• Friday, April 19 — Week 3 Wrap Up featuring I-L and GIVEAWAY at Whole Circle Studio
• Monday, April 22 — M: Molli Sparkles of Molli Sparkles
• Tuesday, April 23 — N: Nicole Daksiewicz of Modern Handcraft
• Wednesday, April 24 — O: Scott Hansen of Blue Nickel Studios
• Thursday, April 25 — P: Pat Sloan of Pat Sloan
• Friday, April 26 — Week 4 Wrap Up featuring M-P and GIVEAWAY at Whole Circle Studio
• Monday, April 29 — Q: Joanna Marsh of Kustom Kwilts
• Monday, April 29 — Q: Lindsay Széchényi of Lindsay Széchényi (and Patchwork Threads)
• Tuesday, April 30 — R: Andrea Tsang Jackson of 3rd Story Workshop
• Wednesday, May 1 — S: Sarah Thomas of Sariditty
• Thursday, May 2 — T: Rachel Rossi of Rachel Rossi
• Friday, May 3— Week 4 Wrap Up featuring Q-T and GIVEAWAY at Whole Circle Studio
• Monday, May 6 — U: Kitty Wilkin of Night Quilter
• Tuesday, May 7 — V: Jenn McMillan of Fabric, Ink
• Wednesday, May 8 — W: Jenny Meeker of Bobbin Roulette Studio
• Thursday, May 9 — X: Stephanie Kendron of Modern Sewciety
• Friday, May 10 — Week 5 Wrap Up featuring U-X and GIVEAWAY at Whole Circle Studio
• Monday, May 13 — Y: Debby Brown of Debby Brown Quilts
• Tuesday, May 14 — Z: Nisha Bouri and Kim Martucci of Brimfield Awakening
• Wednesday, May 15 — Week 6 Wrap Up featuring Y-Z, Tour closeout and GIVEAWAY at Whole Circle Studio

Be sure to follow Sheri’s IG account here to keep up with all of the Letters as well as catch offers for prizes that she has created for y’all.

That’s it for me today folks.

Keep Sewing, Keep Happy,

Scott

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.